#20

Ever since I was little, I’ve always wanted to go to a Drive-In movie. From the moment I saw one on ‘Grease‘ as a kid, I was fascinated with the idea. And while these days I knew not to expect a John Travolta dance number to break out mid-theatrical screening, I still couldn’t wait to pack the car full of pillows, snacks and for an old school 1950’s date night. Understandably, it just had to make the Bucket List.

To go to a Drive-In movie is listed as #20 as I’ve never lived anywhere that’s had one before and subsequently never been. As history has it, these little makeshift theatres have been around since the early 1930’s with the first ever Drive-In movie making it’s début on a mild spring night in May. I figure if we’ve kept them going almost a century onwards, they must be worth the hype. And oh how I was right.

On Friday night, my Mr. and I made the hour and a half road-trip to the port of the city where a new Drive-In theatre has just opened next to the local night food markets. We got there a little early especially to scope out the markets and of course, indulge a little with all the food at our finger tips.

They call it the Eat Street Markets. But it definitely isn’t just one street, and I’m definitely not complaining. There was cuisine from almost every country, and just as many dessert stalls to tempt you into waving goodbye to your diet. My Mr. and I even came across a flavoured popcorn stall where we watched corn being flavoured and swirled in a huge vat before exploding right in front of us into the most amazing smelling popcorn I’ve ever known! We couldn’t help ourselves but buy a whole bag.

Finally, after filling our stomachs to the brink of bursting with the most delicious creations like giant potatoes slinky’s (more tasty than it sounds) and strawberry and mango carbonated ice tea (seriously something worth trying) – we decided to make our way over the the theatre before diabetes became our next health problem.

Located just upon the edge of the river we parked our car directly in front of a giant screen cast upon three stacked shipping containers. Behind it the big city lights became a perfect backdrop and we watched the last of the boats pull into the harbour as we waited for the movie to start.

We don’t have a convertible, so it wasn’t quite like out of a scene for ‘Grease’. But it didn’t need to be – I was enjoying myself regardless. We wound down the windows to let the speakers sound through, and reclined the car seats right the way back so it was more like a bed than a seat. And with a 1kg bag of salted caramel popcorn propped up on the centre console between us, we were set.

It was amazing. It was like having our own little cinema and there was no one to shine a torch in our faces to tell us to get our feet off the dashboard. It was without a doubt the most fun I’ve had in a while and I would undoubtedly do it again!

I can now understand why we haven’t booted the good old Drive-In movie out of existence. And now having been to one, I can’t imagine why anyone would want to. I may even go as far to say that I like them more than Gold Class Cinemas and that’s a big statement coming from the girl who loves the ability of being served a three course meal whilst watching a movie (because how great is that, honestly).

If you haven’t been to a Drive-In movie, book yourself in this weekend! I guarantee that you will love it just as much as I did. Besides, as long as you don’t bring the kids, there’s no one to be kicking your seat from behind and that is a bliss worth knowing about.

Best date night ever.

#20 – Go to a Drive-In movie: Check!

d x

 

Leave a Reply

